Dublin (and some big Cliffs)

In line with my becoming funemployed again, I decided to take a trip to Dublin for a few days before meeting friends in Belfast later in the week. 

I arrived in Dublin on a windy and rainy afternoon, and after checking into my AirBnB, made my way to the Guinness Storehouse, via Dublin Castle. What trip to Dublin would be complete without a trip to the Guinness factory to see how this stout is made and pouring your own pint to enjoy?

My second day in Dublin I enjoyed a sleep in and brunch and then just generally explored the city on foot. I visited the famous Cathedrals, Saint Stephen’s Green and Trinity College Dublin and its library. In the afternoon I joined a walking tour to learn more about the history of ‘The Troubles’, the uprising and the revolution. Next was a beer and whiskey tasting tour in the evening and then swiftly to bed.

After an early start on the Wednesday, I was on a bus, enroute to the Western edge of Europe. After a few hours we arrived at the Cliffs of Moher where I enjoyed walking along the cliffs in the sea air and might have taken a tumble in the mud. After the Cliffs we drove to Galway City via the Burren, before making out way back to Dublin in the evening. 

Thursday was my last day in Dublin, which I kicked off with a wander through the streets and some genealogy research at the National Library of Ireland. After lunch with a former colleague I headed up to Belfast via train to meet up with Jess and Jeremy. Interestingly, when the train crosses the Boarder, a siren goes off on the train!

Dublin Streets

Dublin Castle

Pouring my own Guinness

It’s true, Guinness is better in Dublin

Cliche Guinness factory photo

Ha’penny Bridge

St Patrick’s Cathedral

From the gardens

St Stephen’s Green

The Library at Trinity College Dublin where they keep the Book of Kells 

Brian Boru Harp

Trinity College Dublin

Garden of Remembrance 

Craft Beer Tasting

Bangers and Mash

Sunrise

The Cliffs of Moher

Mud…

Pretty happy being back by the sea

Rebel at heart

Battling the wind for a selfie

That’s better!

The Burren 

Grumpy skies and wintery light

First beach I’ve seen in a while

The Lunar landscape that is the Burren

Galway City

Irish Stew


The Famine memorial

2 thoughts on “Dublin (and some big Cliffs)

Leave a Reply

