Weekend in the Nooowwrrff

This past weekend, I made the train journey north to Manchester to visit my pseudo cousin Charlie and catch up with my friends Will and Kate. As this was my first intra-city train journey, I found it far more amusing and exciting than any of my other fellow passengers. I may or may not have spent more than half the journey staring out the window, taking photos and enjoying passing the quaint English villages and countryside. 


On arrival in Manchester I was met by Charlie, and after taking the scenic route home via the Quays, Salford and Old Trafford, it was off to bed. 

Saturday I was up early, and met Will and Kate for my first ever Full English complete with Buck’s Fizz before our walking tour of Manchester. Manchester has such a rich and interesting history, from the cotton trade, the industrial revolution and trade unionist action. The city was even bombed by the Irish Republican Army in the 1990’s, although no one was injured or killed.  Learning more about the history of Manchester on our walking tour was great, and made all the more interesting by fact the that Manchester was hosting Comicon. So many Captain Americas and Pikachus!

Manchester Central Library and the Old Post Office

Manchester Town Hall

St Ann’s Churst and some old dude.

After the walking tour, Will, Kate and I enjoyed some cider in the sun, before parting ways. 

I continued my self-led tour of Manchester by avoiding the sales and shops, and venturing to the beautiful Manchester Cathedral. On the way I spotted the Manchester working bees, symbols of the many workers of the industrial revolution. I also made my way to the beautiful neo-gothic John Rylands Library. 

The beeeeeeeees ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ

The beautiful Cathedral.

Stained glass windows in the Cathedral


The John Rylands Library

Pretty grand reading room!

Afterwards, it was time for a quick nap and dinner out Charlie, her partner James and his sister Vanessa. James and Vanessa are from north of Manchester and I absolutely loved their Noooowwrrrfffen accents. I still can’t get over how many different and varied accents there are in England, it’s fantastic. 

Sunday was classic bacon butties for breakfast before heading to Liverpewl for the day. It was such a perfect day for it, so sunny and quite warm. After wandering around the docks, we did an open top bus tour. More wandering and a stop off at the Everton shop finished the day before the journey back to Manchester and then London.

The Pumphouse at Albert Dock.

Outside the Beatles Museum with Charlie. Didn’t go in, saving that for next time! 

Found the yellow submarine!

Open top bus tour with Charlie, Vanessa and James.

Padlocks at the dock. Most of these were tributes to loved ones lost. 

Loving being back in a port city with the sea air

The Royal Liver Building


Me and me meeeytes, the Beatles. I will be back Liverpool!

Leave a Reply

